ASWN Awards & Appreciation Ceremony

By | Apr 22, 2024

The Associated Students of Western Nevada (ASWN) recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff during its Awards and Appreciation Ceremony on April 19 in Casino Fandango Grand Ballroom.

The reception enabled the student government group the opportunity to present awards to students in a variety of academic areas, including Workforce, Career and Technical Education; Jump Start; Liberal Arts; and Nursing & Allied Health.

Receiving WCTE awards were Heracrio Vega, Automotive; Brooke Morris, Criminal Justice; and Alan Gomez Jauregui, Education.

Jump Start College Student Awards were presented to Camryn Hook, Churchill County High School; Muskan Atrafi, Dayton High School; Sarah Polish, Oasis Academy; and Hannah McCoy, Virginia City High School.

For Liberal Arts, awardees included Elizabeth Ardinger, Physical Sciences; Erica Phillips, Biological Sciences; Keagen Mckinney, Mathematics and History; and Maile Pierson, Undergraduate Researcher.

In Nursing & Allied Health, awards were granted to Marly Green, Nursing; Mindy Bleeker, Nursing; and Jennifer Wallace, Nursing.

Five students were recognized for their leadership and academic excellence representing specific groups of students: Lluvia Bonilla Montes, Latino Leadership Academy Student of the Year; Trent Whitney, Veteran Student of the Year; Suzanna Stankute, ASWN President Award; Richard Tidrick and Moises De la Torre, Outstanding Student Leadership Awards.

Suzanna Stankute was recognized earlier this spring for receiving the Regents’ Scholar Award.

Five students were honored for their commitment to the college and awarded Student Employee of the Year in certain categories: Guadalupe De Santiago, Community Service; Erica Diaz, Critical Thinking; Jordan Zamora, Diversity and Inclusion; Hannon Callahan, Leadership; and Yazmin Conchas, Overall. 

Awards were also bestowed upon academic and administrative faculty and classified staff for outstanding performance or service. For their contributions to students and voted on by students, ASWN honored Adrian Barrera, Advisor of the Year; Dr. Rebecca Bevans, Academic Faculty of the Year; Sean Davison, Adjunct Faculty of the Year; and Nichole Paul, Service Award.

ASWN’s Club of the Year was the 2nd Year Nursing Club. 

University Police Department Northern Command at WNC was honored with ASWN's Service Award. 

“Each year we take just a few hours to recognize outstanding students in academics, service and leadership,” said Heather Rikalo, Student Life coordinator and ASWN adviser. “We celebrate the best of WNC with family and friends and help close our year with real joy and celebration for these students.”

Special thank you to Josie McIntosh for the event photos.